Opened 8 years ago

Closed 7 years ago

#1036 closed bug (fixed (in master))

Deleting a Macro can break things

Reported by: cerberus@… Owned by: takkaria
Milestone: 3.3.0 Keywords: macros,InputRework
Cc:

Description

When you delete a macro it actually just creates a macro to that letter.

This has strange repercussions in shops/home if you delete a macro on p/s/d/g. You get in a never ending loop of purchasing/selling/dropping/getting.

To recreate create a new character. Go into the macro menu and delete a macro on d. Go into your home and press d. Once your inventory is empty you are stuck in a never ending loop.

This is in 3.1.1 on windows :)

Change History (6)

comment:1 Changed 8 years ago by MarbleDice

  • Keywords macros commands added
  • Milestone changed from Triage to 3.1.2 beta
  • Status changed from new to confirmed

I don't have access to my repo at the moment, but this bug appears to affect HEAD as late as [e156a10] (SVN r1740).

comment:2 Changed 8 years ago by MarbleDice

After looking, this one probably can't be easily fixed without making some fundamental improvements to the macro system and possibly pref files. Macros are "added over" deleted macros so that the macro deletion will save.

See also #53, #105.

comment:3 Changed 8 years ago by magnate

  • Keywords commands removed
  • Milestone changed from 3.1.2 beta to 3.1.3
  • Owner set to magnate
  • Status changed from confirmed to assigned

Well, I plan on overhauling pref files after 3.1.2, so I might be able to fix this by making "delete macro" really delete a macro, rather than overwrite a new one. Not planning on getting involved with macros any further though!

comment:4 Changed 8 years ago by magnate

  • Milestone changed from 3.2.0 to 3.3.0

Punting to 3.3: non-urgent bug or change.

comment:5 Changed 7 years ago by takkaria

  • Keywords macros,InputRework added; macros removed
  • Owner changed from magnate to takkaria

comment:6 Changed 7 years ago by takkaria

  • Resolution set to fixed
  • Status changed from assigned to closed

We no longer have macros, yay. Opening #1470 for a vaguely related issue with keymaps that also existed with macros (saving keymaps shouldn't save the game's default keymaps too).

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.